The Department of ancient and medieval history of Kazakhstan and contiguous countries

The department was established in 1952. The main direction of the scientific work of the Department’s employees is to study the ancient and medieval history of the Kazakh people and state associations in the territory of Kazakhstan. In the 1950s, the Department’s employees took part in the preparation and publication of the first volume of the two-volume «History of the Kazakh SSR». Over time, the Department merged with the Department of pre-revolutionary history of Kazakhstan (until 1973).

In November 1973, the Department of Ancient and Medieval History of Kazakhstan staffed by specialists with a special oriental education, was re-established. The head of the department was B.E. Kumekov. The backbone of the department was A. Sabyrkhanov, Yu. A. Zuev, K.A. Pishchulina, N.N. Mingulov, T.I. Sultanov, K.Sh. Khafizov. The staff of the department in the 1970s prepared and published I and II volumes of the 5-volume «History of the Kazakh SSR», where the main results of the study on the ancient and medieval history of Kazakhstan were summarized. Unlike previous editions, these generalizing works favorably differed in that they had a strong source-study base.

In November 1973, the Department of Ancient and Medieval History of Kazakhstan, staffed by specialists with a special oriental education, was re-established. The head of the department was B.E. Kumekov. The backbone of the department was A. Sabyrkhanov, Yu. A. Zuev, K.A. Pishchulina, N.N. Mingulov, T.I. Sultanov, K.Sh. Khafizov. The staff of the department in the 1970s prepared and published I and II volumes of the 5-volume «History of the Kazakh SSR», where the main results of the study on the ancient and medieval history of Kazakhstan were summarized. Unlike previous editions, these generalizing works favorably differed in that they had a strong source-study base.

After Kazakhstan gained state independence in the Department, the emphasis was on studying the problems of the history of Kazakh statehood in the Middle Ages. The development of topics coincided with the preparation and publication of volumes I and II of the new 5-volume of «History of Kazakhstan».

In different years the Department was headed by B.E. Kumekov, K.A. Pischulina, Z. Kinayatuly, N.A. Atygaev, A.K. Shashayev, K.Z. Uskenbay, K.U. Torlanbaeva. Currently, the department is headed by Cand.Sc. Shamshidenova F.M. Sydykov MN, Ph.D., Leading researcher A.Dauletkhan, Researchers A.D. Arepova, M. Seitov and Margulan A., Senior assistant A.K. Nurmanovа.

Over the last 2 years, the department staff published six monographs, 36 scientific articles, and participated in 32 different theoretical and theoretical conferences, symposiums, scientific seminars and round tables. Foreign contacts have been established with Central Asia and with scientists from the United States, Germany, Great Britain, Turkey, India, China, Mongolia, Russia, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan and other CIS countries.

Currently, the Department’s employees are working on the project of the Program-Targeted Financing «Historical Encyclopedia» and «History and Culture of the Great Steppe».

Отдел древней и средневековой истории Казахстана и сопредельных стран

Отдел был создан в 1952 г. Основным направлением научных работ сотрудников Отдела является исследование древней и средневековой истории казахского народа и государственных объединений на территории Казахстана. В 1950-е годы сотрудники Отдела принимали участие в подготовке и издании первого тома двухтомной «Истории Казахской ССР».  Со временем Отдел слился с Отделом дореволюционной истории Казахстана (вплоть до 1973 г.).

В ноябре 1973 г. был вновь образован Отдел древней и средневековой истории Казахстана, укомплектованный сотрудниками, имеющими  специальное востоковедческое образование. Заведующим отделом стал Б.Е. Кумеков. Костяк отдела составили А. Сабырханов,  Ю. А. Зуев, К.А. Пищулина, Н.Н. Мингулов, Т.И. Султанов, К.Ш. Хафизова.  Сотрудники отдела в 1970-е годы осуществили подготовку и издание I и II томов 5-томной «Истории Казахской ССР», где были обобщены основные результаты исследовании по древней и средневековой истории Казахстана. В отличии от предыдущих изданий эти обобщающие труды выгодно отличались тем, что имели под собой прочную источниковедческую базу.

После обретения Казахстаном государственной независимости в Отделе акцент был сделан на изучение  проблем  истории   казахской государственности в средние века. Разработка тем совпала с подготовкой и изданием I и II томов новой 5-томной «Истории Казахстана».

В разные годы Отдел возглавляли Б.Е. Кумеков, К.А. Пищулина, З. Кинаятулы, Н.А. Атыгаев, А.К. Шашаев, К.З. Ускенбай, К.У. Торланбаева, Ф.М. Шамшиденова, А.М. Ужкенов. В настоящее время заведует отделом к.и.н. Жумадил А.К. В отделе работают к.и.н., Ведущий научный сотрудник А.Даулетхан, Научный сотрудник А.Д. Арепова, младщий научный сотрудник лаборант  А.К. Нурманова.

За последие 2 года сотрудники отдела опубликовали шесть монографий, 36 научных статей, участвовали в 32 разных научно-теоретических и научно-практических конференциях, симпозиумах, научных семинарах и круглых столах. Установлены зарубежные контакты с исследовательскими центрами Центральной Азии и учеными США, Германии, Великобритании, Турции, Индии, Китая, Монголии, России, Узбекистана, Кыргызстана и др. странами СНГ.